SRB Logo


International Atlantic Salmon Research Board
Unravelling the mysteries of the salmon at sea to promote their recovery




Home Page
About The Board
Research Inventory
SALSEA Programme
Links Contact Us




External Link to NASCO website
An initiative of the
North Atlantic Salmon
Conservation Organization (NASCO)


Last Updated

Designed by J7 (MIS) Ltd


Adobe Acrobat Reader
PDF Documents on this site require Adobe Acrobat Reader which can be downloaded free from



About the Board

The IASRB was established by NASCO to promote collaboration and co-operation on research into the causes of marine mortality of Atlantic salmon and the opportunities to counteract it.

Each NASCO Party is a founding member of the Board which also includes representation from NASCO's affiliated Non-Government Organizations (NGOs).

The Board maintains an inventory of research projects; identifies research gaps and needs; funds approved projects; and provides a forum for co-ordination of research efforts. Read more...

The Board maintains a metadatabase of data and sample collections resulting from the SALSEA Programme. Read more ....

A Scientific Advisory Group identifies research needs and priorities, makes recommendations for enhanced co-ordination of existing research, and evaluates and advises the Board on proposals for research.

The Board developed and implemented, through a public-private partnership, an innovative and comprehensive programme of marine research - the SALSEA Programme. Read more... It now seeks to encourage telemetry projects intended to partition mortality of salmon at sea, SALSEA-Track. Read more...

Salmon up stream


Salmon shoal
Courtesy of Gilbert van Ryckevorsel

Office Bearers:  

Chair of the Board:
Mr Rory Saunders
Mr Raoul Bierach
Dr Ken Whelan
Mr Jacque Robichaud
Dr Malcolm Windsor

2015 -
2011 - 2015
2007 - 2011
2002 - 2007
2001 - 2002

Chair of the Scientific Advisory Group:
Mr G Chaput
Dr N Ó Maoiléidigh
Mr Tim Sheehan
Dr Lars Hansen
Dr Malcolm Beveridge
Mr David Meerburg

2018 -
2014 - 2018
2010 - 2014
2006 - 2010
2005 - 2006
2002 - 2005

Secretary to the Board:
Dr Emma Hatfield
Dr Peter Hutchinson
Dr Malcolm Windsor

2012 -2017
2001 -