NASCO Logo    

Salmon School
North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization
Conserving and restoring wild Atlantic salmon



The Atlantic Salmon
International Year of the Salmon
The Value of Salmon
Scientific Advice
NASCO's Agreements
Rivers' Database


Contact Us

IYS 2019






Last Updated


Adobe Acrobat Reader
PDF documents require Acrobat Reader. Download free from

Designed by J7 (MIS) Ltd


Implementation Plans and Reporting

To improve commitment to NASCO's Agreements, each jurisdiction has developed Implementation Plans detailing the measures to be taken over five year periods (2007-2012 and 2013-2018) in relation to management of salmon fisheries; habitat protection and restoration; and minimising the adverse impacts of aquaculture, introductions and transfers and transgenics.

Progress in relation to these plans is reported and evaluated annually (through Focus Area Reports in the first cycle and Annual Progress Reports in the second cycle).

Following a comprehensive review of the strengths and weaknesses of the first reporting cycle, the Council agreed that in the second cycle of Implementation Plans, greater emphasis would be placed on:

  • the actions to be taken over a five year period;
  • clearly identifiable measurable outcomes and timescales;
  • and appropriate monitoring to evaluate the effectiveness of the measures taken.

Importantly, the new Implementation Plans address the issues on which additional actions were recommended in the first reporting cycle.  Annual Progress Reports are prepared in order to assess progress against the actions in the Implementation Plans and to report on monitoring of the effectiveness of those actions and their enforcement.  This approach to the second reporting cycle was endorsed by an external performance review panel in 2012. Read more...

View 2007 - 2012 Implementation Plans and Focus Area Reports

View 2013 - 2018 Implementation Plans and Annual Progress Reports

View 2019 – 2024 Implementation Plans and Annual Progress Reports

Further information:

First Reporting Cycle

Second Reporting Cycle

Third Reporting Cycle